Challenge Championship History

The prestigious Challenge Championship showcases older horses going the classic 440 yard distance.

2019 Winner - SF Hot Pass
Ivory James-Passem Up Perry by Mr Jess Perry

Owner - Shannon Fischer
Breeder - P & J Racing Ltd. and Stroebel
Trainer - Leon Bard
Jockey - Francisco Calderon
Time - :21.607 
Purse: $266,250

 Stakes History


Year Winner Owner Trainer Jockey Purse
2019 SF Hot Pass Shannon Fischer Leon Bard Francisco Calderon $266,250
2018 BH Lisas Boy Bill Hoburg Bill Hoburg Cesar DeAlba $250,000
2017 The Fiscal Cliff Thomas Lepic Kasey Willis Benito Baca $345,000
2016 AJs High Michael Teel Charleton Hunt Stormy Smith $353,500 
2015 Daytona B Gregorio Garza Rolondo Almanza Esgar Ramirez $353,000
2014 Stimulus Jerry Windham Charley Hunt Rodrigo Valejo $357,000
2013 Vodka With Ice Gerardo Prado  Pablo Rabasa Jr. Francisco Rubio $350,000
2012 Rylees Boy Lorena Velazquez Rodriguez  Paul Jones  Ramon Sanchez  $353,500 
2011 Favorite Cartel Jones/Thompson/Helzer/Hubbard Paul Jones Ramon Sanchez $353,500
2010 Feature Jess Rockin Reed Land and Cattle Co. LLC Donnie Strickland John Hamilton $353,500
2009 Fighter On Fire Rancho El Alacran Adan Farias Rodrigo Aceves $350,000
2008 WRS Special Shoe Williams Racing Stable, Inc. Heath Taylor Jarrod Deschamp $353,500
2007 Strawkins Donald and Peggy Boyle Paul Jones Freddie Martinez $301,500
2006 This Snow Is Cold Los Ladrilleros Horse Racing Co. Melinda Garcia Rodrigo Vellejo $301,500
2005 Catchmeinyourdreams Kird Goodfellow Chris O'Dell Cody Jensen $300,000
2004 SLM Snowman Steve and Lindsey Mitchell Don Mourning Jacky Martin $300,000
2003 Panther Mountain Guy Weimer Janet VanBebber Alvin Brossette $300,000
2002 Streakin Sin Tacha Janet VanBebber Janet VanBebber Alvin Brossette $300,000
2001 Tailor Fit Betty Jane Burlin Janet VanBebber Alvin Brossette $300,000
2000 Runaway Wil C.E. Dobbins Mike Teel G.R. Carter, Jr. $300,000
1999 Policy Tacs Dennie Hill Bret Vickery Alex Bautista $300,000
1998 Kool Kue Baby Ramiro Lopez K.C. Carden Tami Purcell $300,000
1997 SLM Big Daddy Steve and Lindsey Mitchell Don Mourning Jacky Martin $250,000
1996 Kool Kue Baby Manuel Garcia K.C. Carden Gilbert Ortiz $200,000
1995 Rare Bar Gary L. Mead Charley Hunt Troy Crissup $200,000
1994 Down With Debt George N. Haddad Charlie Bloomquist John Creager $100,000
1993 Junos Request Nanny McCoy Charley Hunt Steve Treasure $56,500

Fastest Time

Year Horse Track Time / Speed Index
2009 Fighter On Fire Los Alamitos :21.124 / 103

Highest Speed Index

Year Horse Track Time / Speed Index
1996 Kool Kue Baby Turf Paradise :21.35 / 118

Highest Win Payoff

Year Horse Track Odds to $1 $2 Win Price
1999 Policy Tacs Los Alamitos 46.6 $95.20

Lowest Win Payoff

Year Horse Track Odds to $1 $2 Win Price
1994 Down With Debt Los Alamitos 0.6 $3.20
2002 Streakin Sin Tacha Lone Star Park at Grand Prairie 0.6 $3.20
2005 Catchmeinyourdreams Los Alamitos 0.6 $3.20